Google+

Addicted to STRESS…Nah, not me…Well, at least I don’t think so!

2

April 26, 2013 by Dragonfly Diva

Keep calm 1

Terri, over at Positively Positive wrote a post today about being addicted to stress.  That I had to check out!  Now you may think “she’s into stress?”  Or, maybe “she must be having a stressed out day.”  No, not really.  Believe it or not although I have a ton of work to do for the job, and many big and small projects that I could be doing today for the home, I’m not having a stressed day.

I was supposed to be on my way to Virginia with my husband for a work function he is attending, and a short quick get away trip for some R&R as a couple, but unfortunately our dog sitter arrangement fell through and at the last-minute I could not go.  Did I give up my already scheduled vacation day.  I could have and I probably should have, but instead I decided to have a last-minute ME day.  I’m not just sitting around although some may say I deserve it, nor am I working my butt off like others think I might, getting things done that I don’t normally have time for.  I’m trying to do both.  I did switch out the winter/summer clothing and am going to try to do a bunch of the laundry today, but that is all minor stuff.  I’m moving slow…I decided to write this post, spur of the moment like, and am watching TV while putting away clothes and towels…something you usually find me doing around 8 PM.  So I guess I’m trying to not stress out.

Keep calm 2

So here you have the reason I hoofed it on over to Terri Cole’s newest post.  I tend to be a stresser.  Sometimes I have good reason to stress.  Deadlines, procrastination, parenting, family, meetings, finances, you name it and it can be stressful – that’s life.  But, for whatever reason, if I don’t have a reason to stress, I usually can find one.  No, I don’t actually sit down and think until I come up with something, it sorta just creeps into my psyche.  And then it just unravels from there.  Some days I’m very aware of it, and can actively seek to manage it, and other days it’s not until I’m WHAM – right in the thick of it – that I realize I’m stressed out.  So it makes one – at least it makes me wonder – am I, or is my psyche addicted to STRESS????!!!

Apparently our bodies need balance – time for stress (physical, mental, emotional, etc) and time for recovering from that stress – for personal growth to happen.  AH HA!  And there is where its beginning to make some sense.  Now do you know someone who is passionate about personal growth.  Nope, nada, no way….well, ok, I’ll admit it.  I am!!!  But stress can be addictive because of the natural hormones it produces – they get us moving and grooving and our bodies just can’t get enough of that.  Hmmmm, now let me think for a little bit, have I had any stress these past few years?  Umm, yeah.  Full time Mom and wife and supervisor, part-time student, lost my sister to cancer, financial strife at times, son growing into teenage years, parents growing older, work colleagues retiring or moving to other jobs and their positions not being filled = more work on my plate, I could go on and on.

If I was a betting person, I’d put money on my psyche being addicted to stress.  So if I’m going to learn from this new idea, then I need to figure out how to continue to help my psyche wean off of that stress, recovery, stress, recovery pattern that I’ve grown accustom too and admit I am having trouble letting go of now that grad school is done.  Oh, the other stressors have not gone away but the hours of endless work associated with school have.  So its time to give up on that addiction pattern.  Spend time looking for the signs of a stress-out winding up.  Learn to see them and work on not allowing it to continue to spiral.  Practice stress-reducing activities – like getting exercise and putting true, real down time into my day.  Like Terri says – just sitting and being with my thoughts, creating room for expansion in my life.  I am going to go through a personal spring cleaning, getting rid of the clutter and throwing open the windows to let in the light, air and growth.

And now…back to my slow path through this sunny Friday afternoon, taking time to just appreciate life – and well maybe a bit of chocolate thrown in for good measure.

keep calm 4

 

 

2 thoughts on “Addicted to STRESS…Nah, not me…Well, at least I don’t think so!

  1. I’m happy you decided to take a “me” day and with chocolate, that’s even better! Ughhh….don’t remind me about the dreaded winter/summer clothing switch. That’s always a big job. I used to be a very highly stressed person, but it took it’s toll on my health. I’ve definitley mellowed the past couple of years. Have a great weekend!

  2. Sometimes you just need a “me” day!! Hope you enjoyed it!!

    Happy belated Mother’s Day!!

Share your thoughts~

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Respectful Content Sharing Notice:

© Dragonfly Diva and The Dragonfly Dances in Life, 2013. Re-blogging and sharing is encouraged but only when linked back to the original content with full and clear credit given to me, Dragonfly Diva and The Dragonfly Dances in Life. Other types of unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

Keep Reading!

Visitors Who Danced By

  • 1,861 visitors
Byrdseed

An adventure into life's ability to enlighten us to new perspectives through our own little corners of the world. Welcome to the Journey!

Edutopia RSS

An adventure into life's ability to enlighten us to new perspectives through our own little corners of the world. Welcome to the Journey!

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Cheryl's Delights

A variety of things that delight me!

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

thedifferent1's Blog

A great WordPress.com site

Striking Photography by Bo

Life and Fine Art Photography In Colorado

3stagesofgirl.wordpress.com/

Girl. Woman. Mom. And All The Shit In Between.

Retirement and beyond

My travels and adventures since retiring on 30.11.2012

Tiptoe Bay

Family, food and all things good.

Bark Time

I don’t want a perfect life; I want a happy one.

busy mockingbird

a messy collection of art projects, crafts, and various random things...

The Roller Toaster

Rolling toasts since 2013

Insanity of Motherhood

Motherhood, marriage, and midlife.

Foster and Photograph

Photography, Border Collies, and more Border Collies.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

The Broad's Side

The Opinion You Didn't Realize You Asked For

Pale Yellow

Cream together butter and sugar until pale yellow.

