Google+

Garden Suprise Leads to Taste Treat for Dinner

7

April 22, 2013 by Dragonfly Diva

It all started yesterday with this…

mNG2Ez1366591342

My husband and son were continuing the spring yard clean up and prepping of our gardens for planting and they found that our asparagus bed is already producing shoots.  Aren’t they beautiful?!?  Some much more colorful than the bunches you get at the grocery store!  This will be our first year of harvesting from the bed, so we are really excited.

So a special early spring treat like this deserves to be a part of a special Sunday dinner.  I knew my mother had found a new recipe that was a hit, so I called her up and had her read the recipe to me so I could copy it down – Crust-less Leek and Gruyère Quiche.  Yum!  Could not wait to get started.  The recipe did not actually call for asparagus, but my Mom had indicated they felt the addition of some bacon to the recipe would be tasty so I figured – maybe some asparagus and baby ‘bellas too?  Why not!

I’ll put the recipe at the bottom, but here’s how it all goes together…

I started by cooking a package of bacon in the oven so I could use my double-decker pan to drain it as it cooked and catch some of the grease to use in sauteing the veggies.  Then I drained the bacon some more on a paper towel.

xxOfvZ1366592667

While it was cooking I cut up the leeks, asparagus and mushrooms.

1T3eKf1366591859 5hmlgu1366592936

When my husband asked how I was going to use the asparagus, he ended up going out and found a couple more small shoots, so we ended up with about a half cup, chopped.  There is about a cup of mushrooms.  The recipe calls for a pound of leeks, but I realized I did not weigh them at the store.  I cut up all three that were in the bunch I bought and it seemed to be a good amount.

Once the bacon was done and I added a little of the grease to the olive oil in my pan it was time to saute the veggies.

hN1qp51366593545

The house smelled so good while cooking the veggies! Once they were all done they go into the bottom of the pie pan.  The recipe calls for a Quiche pan or a deep dish pie plate.  Never knew there was a special pan for Quiche.  I’m going to have to get one for future use!

242B4V1366594006

Next came mixing up the eggs, and spices.  Then that goes over the veggies in the pan.

sxnx6K1366592401 ZBMNUw1366594283

I put some of the crumbled bacon on next so it would sink down into the veggie filling a bit, then came the shredded cheese.

xm70W21366593389 cLcXOu1366594488

Finally a sprinkling of crumbled bacon on top and it was ready for the oven.

6fqfV81366594717

It came out perfect!  I was worried that it would stick in the pie pan when I tried to serve it but it came out beautifully!

TkOJXD1366626564 Z5ZRkn1366626734Paired with a glass of German Riesling wine it was a nice meal for a spring day.  And the home-grown asparagus, which was surprisingly sweet added another layer of flavors to the dish.  I’m looking forward to the left overs later this week!

So here is the recipe in case you want to try it.  My only suggested changes are maybe to lower the temperature and cook it a little longer than the recipe calls for.  While 35 minutes did it for our Quiche, it was just a little too moist I thought.  I figure cooking it a little longer will help with that, and the lower temp will keep the top from getting any browner.

Crust-less Leek and Gruyère Quiche

  • 1 pound of leeks
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp salt, divided
  • 6 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups whole milk
  • 1 tbsp corn starch
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 4 ounces Gruyère Cheese (about 1 cup shredded)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a 10 inch Quiche pan or 9 inch deep dish pie pan.  Trim and clean the leeks.  Cut off the root end and the dark green tops. Discard the tougher outer leaves.  Cut each leek in half lengthwise, then across in 1/4 in wide slices.  Place leeks in a bowl of water and stir and sift through them to loosen any sand/dirt.  Transfer them by hand to a colander and then discard water separately.  Do this several times – until no more sand/dirt is present in the water once leeks are removed.  Drain them in the colander, tossing to remove as much water as possible.

In a non-stick skillet heat the oil on medium heat.  Add the leeks and half the salt to the pan, sauteing for 12-14 minutes or until they are tender and browned.  Transfer them to the Quiche/pie pan and spread evenly.  In a bowl beat eggs, milk cornstarch, pepper and the remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt until well blended.  Pour over the leeks.  Sprinkle with cheese.  Bake 30-35 minutes or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.  Cool on a wire rack for about five minutes before cutting.

That’s it!  While this time I added the asparagus, bacon and mushrooms, I can see adding other things, such as some peppers, and sausage or broccoli, or whatever you like really!  I think the best part though were those asparagus spears.  Knowing they grew in our back yard, that the plants had survived their first winter outside was a proud moment.  And just like those cherry tomatoes you pick and eat right off the plant, they tasted of sunshine…

This Dragonfly Diva is doing the happy dance of “summer is coming!”

7 thoughts on “Garden Suprise Leads to Taste Treat for Dinner

  1. First off, the meal looks simply delicious! I will have to try it someday…or have someone else try it and taste it, lol. Second, I laughed when I saw you were talking about a recipe because my blog today was about a recipe disaster! So glad that things went more smoothly in your kitchen than in mine!
    ~Irish~

  2. I’m impressed! You should be on The Food Network. 🙂

  3. Thank you, Dragonfly Diva for the amazing pictures and recipe. Looks so scrumptious!

Share your thoughts~

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Respectful Content Sharing Notice:

© Dragonfly Diva and The Dragonfly Dances in Life, 2013. Re-blogging and sharing is encouraged but only when linked back to the original content with full and clear credit given to me, Dragonfly Diva and The Dragonfly Dances in Life. Other types of unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

Keep Reading!

Visitors Who Danced By

  • 1,861 visitors
Byrdseed

An adventure into life's ability to enlighten us to new perspectives through our own little corners of the world. Welcome to the Journey!

Edutopia RSS

An adventure into life's ability to enlighten us to new perspectives through our own little corners of the world. Welcome to the Journey!

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Cheryl's Delights

A variety of things that delight me!

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

thedifferent1's Blog

A great WordPress.com site

Striking Photography by Bo

Life and Fine Art Photography In Colorado

3stagesofgirl.wordpress.com/

Girl. Woman. Mom. And All The Shit In Between.

Retirement and beyond

My travels and adventures since retiring on 30.11.2012

Tiptoe Bay

Family, food and all things good.

Bark Time

I don’t want a perfect life; I want a happy one.

busy mockingbird

a messy collection of art projects, crafts, and various random things...

The Roller Toaster

Rolling toasts since 2013

Insanity of Motherhood

Motherhood, marriage, and midlife.

Foster and Photograph

Photography, Border Collies, and more Border Collies.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

The Broad's Side

The Opinion You Didn't Realize You Asked For

Pale Yellow

Cream together butter and sugar until pale yellow.

