Google+

Time Does Fly When You are Living Life

6

February 19, 2013 by Dragonfly Diva

flying

This past weekend was one of those planned at the last-minute date weekends.  About a week ago I was sitting and considering my schedule and realized that February 17th this year marks a pretty neat anniversary for my husband and I.  After a quick consult of our calendars, we rapidly made plans for our son to be “elsewhere” for the weekend, allowing us to have two days of “date night.”  We decided to hang pretty lose for those days, doing whatever we wanted, whenever we wanted – flying as the wind took us so to speak.  As a result those two days were relaxing and just what we needed!

So what kind of anniversary were we celebrating?  The 20th anniversary of our first date.  Yep, 20 years ago I’d just finished college and was working part-time and trying to find a full-time teaching position, when out of the blue one day there he was…my future husband.  He’d recently moved back to the area after years of overseas military service.  He talked to me, I thought he was charming and handsome, and well I couldn’t let an opportunity like that go, so I made sure he knew I was interested and that someone shared my phone number with him after I left.  He took my number…and called.  Two days later – date number one.  He was polite to my parents, and a gentleman with me.  We continued to date and got married a couple of years later.

Fast forward to today.  Twenty years, two moves, one house/mortgage, two dogs, one child, several job changes and here we are.  What makes it kinda unique is that I just graduated from grad school…just as I’d barely finished my bachelor’s when we met.  Reflecting upon this facet of the anniversary, I find it hard to believe it has been so many years since that graduation.  Can I really be twenty years older and wiser?  How did it fly by so fast?  How could we have a teenager?  Life.  That’s what makes the clock spin like a whirling dervish.  I look at my husband and realize that for both of us the telltale signs of life’s passing are showing slightly around the edges.  We are not old, but we are not as young as we once were.

Yet some things never change…we still love to window shop, so our date time included dinner at a new restaurant and some wandering around stores just looking.  Just like our first date, we went to see a movie together – although the new extreme digital theater is much different from the theaters of 20 years ago.  And just like when we were first dating…I have trouble staying awake when watching a movie at home.  After several dates early on, we were sitting on the couch watching a movie together and I fell asleep.  My then boyfriend thought it was cute and made him feel good that I felt safe enough with him to catch a few z’s.  Then it was my early morning shift at work that caused my nap.  This past weekend…well somehow our dogs have never gotten the concept of sleeping in on weekends – and that caused my head to nod during our Saturday-evening-at-home movie.  My husband still thinks its cute and this time woke me up and told me to go to bed.  🙂

So some things change in life, and yet other things stay the same.  Its life’s patterns that spin us forward.  Sometimes our actions or efforts change the pattern making it new, and other times the alterations are out of our control.  Yet each step, each pattern repeat, each deviation is a part of life’s dance and they all leave their mark on us.  Change us, deepen us, make us who we are in the present and shape who we will be in the future.  Time sure does fly when you are living life.  The important piece is to have fun while doing it, and seeking times and places to celebrate the changes and the things that have stayed the same – celebrating how far we have come and how far we have yet to go.  Hope you all get to celebrate part of life’s dance sometime soon!

6 thoughts on “Time Does Fly When You are Living Life

  1. Congratulations on 20 years! I love hearing stories about how people met. 🙂

  2. Jasmine says:

    Congratulations on 20 years…. Twenty!!! There must be many stories woven in.there.
    Love your style and narratives. Do keep writing.

    • Thanks Jasmine! There are stories woven in those 20 years all over the place! Thanks. I will keep writing. It’s so hard to know what would be interesting to share with others though. Any suggestions?

      • Jasmine says:

        Well.. I find it easier to share what has touched me, an experience that I found interesting, or left me with a newer perspective. It has helped me to just jot down points when there’s a whole bunch of stories hanging around in my head. When I try to figure out what might interest others, it comes out quite convoluted!

Share your thoughts~

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Respectful Content Sharing Notice:

© Dragonfly Diva and The Dragonfly Dances in Life, 2013. Re-blogging and sharing is encouraged but only when linked back to the original content with full and clear credit given to me, Dragonfly Diva and The Dragonfly Dances in Life. Other types of unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

Keep Reading!

Visitors Who Danced By

  • 1,878 visitors
Byrdseed

An adventure into life's ability to enlighten us to new perspectives through our own little corners of the world. Welcome to the Journey!

Edutopia RSS

An adventure into life's ability to enlighten us to new perspectives through our own little corners of the world. Welcome to the Journey!

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Cheryl's Delights

A variety of things that delight me!

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

thedifferent1's Blog

A great WordPress.com site

Striking Photography by Bo

Life and Fine Art Photography In Colorado

3stagesofgirl.wordpress.com/

Girl. Woman. Mom. And All The Shit In Between.

Retirement and beyond

My travels and adventures since retiring on 30.11.2012

Tiptoe Bay

Family, food and all things good.

Bark Time

I don’t want a perfect life; I want a happy one.

busy mockingbird

a messy collection of art projects, crafts, and various random things...

The Roller Toaster

Rolling toasts since 2013

Insanity of Motherhood

Motherhood, marriage, and midlife.

Foster and Photograph

Photography, Border Collies, and more Border Collies.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

The Broad's Side

The Opinion You Didn't Realize You Asked For

Pale Yellow

Cream together butter and sugar until pale yellow.

