Google+

Happy Valentines Day Kiddo – Trust Me, She’s Out There Somewhere and She Will Find You

Leave a comment

February 14, 2013 by Dragonfly Diva

So our Thursday began just like any other day.  Up early, let the dogs out, turn on the coffee, let the dogs in, feed the dogs, put cream in the coffee, fire up the computer, let the dogs back out, let the dogs back in and then finally, a peaceful moment to wake up.  This morning was a bit different as my husband and I exchanged our morning “how did you sleeps.”  We added in the Happy Valentines Day and a hug and a kiss.  Now we are like so many couples out there – so busy that the day has arrived and we do not yet have that card or trinket to give the other.  We’ll each run out and grab one today to share after work, I’m sure.

About an hour later, enter the kiddo.  Yes, today he mostly got up on his own.  For those of you who read my post last week, for some reason mornings right now are a bit better – I’m not so much an alarm clock this week.  🙂  I added a Happy Valentines Day to my good morning to him.  His reply was a grunt and a comment along the lines of “Yeah, right.  What’s so happy about it?”  As many teens other teens do, he seems to find himself wishing he had a significant other to wish a HVD to.

Wow.  It seems like just yesterday I was feeding him a bottle and already he’s big enough to be wanting a girlfriend?  Double Wow…it seems like just yesterday I was getting ready to go off to school and hoping against hope that this year, I’d get a carnation from someone.  Our school sold carnations each year for Valentines.  You bought them and wrote out a slip for who it was to go to with a message for them.  Of course I wanted it to be a red one from a boyfriend, but since I didn’t have a boyfriend, a pink one from someone who liked me but I didn’t know it yet would be just as good!  Heck, even a white one from a friend would work, just so I got one.  So, I totally get where my son is coming from.  The parent in me is secretly screaming because my baby can’t be big enough to be ready for this, aching because I don’t wish for him to experience the longing I did, and desperately trying to find the right response to his voiced angst to soothe and put things in perspective.  What did I fall back on…”You’re 13, you will have a girlfriend some day, and trust me there is a girl out there who is secretly thinking about you and wishing you were her boyfriend.  Even if she doesn’t tell you, she’s thinking it.”  Really?  That’s the best I can come up with?  (Now give me some credit…I’d not yet even finished my first cup of coffee!  We’re talking 6 AM here!)

But its true.  I had crushes on guys all through Jr. High and until 10th grade in Sr. High.  Most never knew and those that did, well they either didn’t feel the same or said we were too good of friends to take a chance on messing it up.  And after several real duds, and a couple of boyfriends that were o.k., but not long-term material, my prince charming did appear.  And my son’s princess is out there somewhere.  And she will find him, someday, when the time is right for them both…just like I did with his dad.  Now, to see if I can get myself ready for that day before it arrives…

valentine

Share your thoughts~

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Respectful Content Sharing Notice:

© Dragonfly Diva and The Dragonfly Dances in Life, 2013. Re-blogging and sharing is encouraged but only when linked back to the original content with full and clear credit given to me, Dragonfly Diva and The Dragonfly Dances in Life. Other types of unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

Keep Reading!

Visitors Who Danced By

  • 1,861 visitors
Byrdseed

An adventure into life's ability to enlighten us to new perspectives through our own little corners of the world. Welcome to the Journey!

Edutopia RSS

An adventure into life's ability to enlighten us to new perspectives through our own little corners of the world. Welcome to the Journey!

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Cheryl's Delights

A variety of things that delight me!

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

thedifferent1's Blog

A great WordPress.com site

Striking Photography by Bo

Life and Fine Art Photography In Colorado

3stagesofgirl.wordpress.com/

Girl. Woman. Mom. And All The Shit In Between.

Retirement and beyond

My travels and adventures since retiring on 30.11.2012

Tiptoe Bay

Family, food and all things good.

Bark Time

I don’t want a perfect life; I want a happy one.

busy mockingbird

a messy collection of art projects, crafts, and various random things...

The Roller Toaster

Rolling toasts since 2013

Insanity of Motherhood

Motherhood, marriage, and midlife.

Foster and Photograph

Photography, Border Collies, and more Border Collies.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

The Broad's Side

The Opinion You Didn't Realize You Asked For

Pale Yellow

Cream together butter and sugar until pale yellow.

