Google+

How Thoughts on a Home Improvement Project Took Over My Pinterest Post

Leave a comment

February 9, 2013 by Dragonfly Diva

Landscaping Basics How Tos & Tips | eHow.com.

Do you do Pinterest?  If so do you click through to the actual websites where the pin originated?  I consider myself a semi-addicted pinner.  When I just need a moment to chill, I’ll pull up Pinterest and spend some time seeing what my friends have pinned, and maybe jump over to the “everything” category to grab some new pins.  Since I have the app on my phone, I’ll scroll through pins if I have to wait in line at the grocery store for a long time.  It’s not a constant thing, I can go a week or more without even thinking about it.  I’m chuckling now as I re-read what I’ve written.  Our world is so full of addictive things these days.  Maybe it always was, and always will be.  Is there truly anyone out there who isn’t addicted to something?  But, I digress.  This post was supposed to be about my Pinterest habit, and the fact that I’ve got hundreds of pins and so little time to actually follow through on the recipes I want to try, crafts I want to attempt, home improvements I’m planning for, but it is turning into being today’s foray into ideas for landscaping.

The link above is for a site that I actually clicked through Pinterest to take a look at.  I’m planning on some landscaping in our back yard this summer.  After 15 years in our house, most of which has included little to no landscaping in back, its time.  About two years after we bought our house, we yanked the overgrown plantings in the front out and redid that area.  At the time, a row of shrubs along the back was also removed, leaving the backside looking bare and uncovering ugly hoses that run along the brick from the air conditioner into the house about 20 feet down the wall.  While we’ve done things like put in a garden, and change some ornamental grass to a big patch of wild tiger lilies, nothing else has been done.  Mostly do to lack of time and a bad economy which left luxury funds almost non-existent.

Well this summer is the summer!  No matter what my final budget ends up being we are going to begin making the area look better.  Neater.  Planned.  Pretty.  Yes, my husband will cringe at that one.  After 20 years together we’ve learned that his mental images of what he wants things to look like is different than mine, or at least we express those images differently, to the point that we often think we are talking about something totally different.  Do you do that with your significant other?  Or do you share like visions?  We’re learning how to ask one another questions to help flush out what the other person is thinking and envisioning.  And like any couple there has to be a give and take.  It will be interesting to see how our give and take turns out this summer.  And stay tuned…I’m sure I’ll have a post or two that talks about our teenage son and his friend’s help with this project.  Wonder how much physical labor we will actually get out of them?  Now, back to Pinterest to find more ideas… 🙂

Share your thoughts~

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Respectful Content Sharing Notice:

© Dragonfly Diva and The Dragonfly Dances in Life, 2013. Re-blogging and sharing is encouraged but only when linked back to the original content with full and clear credit given to me, Dragonfly Diva and The Dragonfly Dances in Life. Other types of unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

Keep Reading!

Visitors Who Danced By

  • 1,878 visitors
Byrdseed

An adventure into life's ability to enlighten us to new perspectives through our own little corners of the world. Welcome to the Journey!

Edutopia RSS

An adventure into life's ability to enlighten us to new perspectives through our own little corners of the world. Welcome to the Journey!

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Cheryl's Delights

A variety of things that delight me!

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

thedifferent1's Blog

A great WordPress.com site

Striking Photography by Bo

Life and Fine Art Photography In Colorado

3stagesofgirl.wordpress.com/

Girl. Woman. Mom. And All The Shit In Between.

Retirement and beyond

My travels and adventures since retiring on 30.11.2012

Tiptoe Bay

Family, food and all things good.

Bark Time

I don’t want a perfect life; I want a happy one.

busy mockingbird

a messy collection of art projects, crafts, and various random things...

The Roller Toaster

Rolling toasts since 2013

Insanity of Motherhood

Motherhood, marriage, and midlife.

Foster and Photograph

Photography, Border Collies, and more Border Collies.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

The Broad's Side

The Opinion You Didn't Realize You Asked For

Pale Yellow

Cream together butter and sugar until pale yellow.

